Student Resources

Student Organizations

Student Organizations

Classroom learning is just one part of the process students will go through in order to achieve their Bachelor’s degree.

Experiences outside of the classroom are just as important to the overall understanding of the engineering field. It is for this reason that engineering students have the opportunity to join clubs in their emphasis areas, many of which have special industry-related guest speakers. Many of these clubs also attend academic and industry-related conferences. It is in these ways that the department at UGA provides specialized educational experiences to take learning out of the lecture hall and lab and into the professional world.


CENGR Ambassadors

Kaitlyn Ruff (kcruff@uga.edu)
Scotty Smith (scotths@uga.edu)
Madeline Robertson(mmr27@uga.edu)
Bryan Grommersch(bgrom@uga.edu)
Jacob Pope(jpope747@uga.edu)
Shelby Holsomback(shelby8@uga.edu)
Gabrielle Pierre(gpierre@uga.edu)
Rashaan Fowles(rfowles@uga.edu)
Trevor Evans(treeva39@gmail.com)
Alex Herring(eah294@uga.edu)
Nolan Williamson(nwilliam@uga.edu)
Lauren Flint(laurenf@me.com)
Austin Kessler(ack13@uga.edu)
Abby Caballero(amc94@uga.edu)
Ryan Brush(ryanbrus@uga.edu)
Trey Dozier(t3dozier@uga.edu)
Eli Long(elilong@uga.edu)
Michael Reed(mdr92@uga.edu)

American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)

AIChE is a professional organization geared towards easing the transition from student to full-time engineer. Members participate in industry tours, host speakers and network with regional chemical engineers to gain experience for the real-world.    

Faculty Advisor

Jim Kastner (jkastner@engr.uga.edu)

Club O​fficers

President: Michael LeCompte (lecompte@uga.edu)
Vice President: Luke Hester (lhester@uga.edu)
Secretary: Morgan Mantay (mmantay9@uga.edu)
Treasurer: Chris Tippins (ctip@uga.edu)

Program Committee Members: 

Matthew Harrison, Austin Kessler, Melanie Ng, Neil Chakravaratty and Ryan Droese


ASABE

The Engineering Club is a student branch of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE). While membership in the national organization is encouraged, it is not required for membership in the club. Some of the purposes of the club include leadership development, service to the community, social activities, design competitions and career resources. A separate group within the club designs and builds a quarter-scale tractor for a national competition.

National webpage
Student club webpage
¼ Scale Pulling Tractor Design Team webpage

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Mike Yoder (myoder@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers

President: Caleb Shepherd (cshep44@uga.edu)
Vice President: Kendra Henson (kdawg92@uga.edu)
Secretary: Veronika Gerya (vogerya@uga.edu)
Treasurer: Justin Rey (jrey3393@uga.edu)
Scribe: Lauren McLean (lmclean@uga.edu)
Sergeant at Arms: Kevin Wu (kwu@uga.edu)


ASCE

The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), is a professional society composed of practicing and aspiring civil engineers whose main purpose is to provide a community of professional interconnection, continuing education, and lifelong resources. Currently, in its first year of existence at the University of Georgia, the ASCE student chapter has already established itself as a strong student-run chapter with a high level of membership and activity in one of the fastest growing programs in the College of Engineering.

Faculty Advisor – Stephan Durham (sdurham@uga.edu)

Club Officers

President: Scott Smith (scotths@uga.edu)
Vice President: Andrew Swicegood (aswicego@uga.edu)
Secretary: Andrew Kapusta (akapusta@uga.edu)
Treasurer: Jason Wright (jcwright@uga.edu)
Membership Chair: Trevor Evans (treeva39@gmail.com)
Social Activities Chair: Taylor Hebert (tjhebert51@gmail.com)
Fundraising Co-Chairs: Shenell Robinson (shenellr@uga.edu) and Catherine Johnson (sasami@uga.edu)

Meetings: 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month


ASHRAE

The purpose of this group is primarily scientific and educational and includes such activities as: 1) the advancement of the sustainable building design technologies in the sciences of heating, refrigerating and air conditioning engineering and related systems; 2) continuing education of the members and other interested persons in these sciences through lectures, demonstrations and publications; 3) career guidance to students of these sciences; and 4) the encouragement of scientific research.

National webpage

Student club webpage: none yet

Faculty Advisor
Dr. Tom Lawrence (lawrence@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Ryan Poythress (rlpoy11@uga.edu)
VP: Michael York (mikeyork@uga.edu)
Secretary: Chris McHugh (jmchugh@uga.edu)


ASME

Founded as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the organization promotes the art, science & practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe. ASME enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods.

Faculty Advisor
Dr. Tom Lawrence (lawrence@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Michael Perleoni (perleoni@uga.edu)
Vice President: Patrick Brennan (pattyb28@uga.edu)
Secretary/Treasurer: Kyle Couch (kcouch@uga.edu)

Executive committee: Richard Coulthurst (richlc95@uga.edu); Alex Herring (eah294@uga.edu); Haynes Curtis (hamc92@uga.edu)


Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES)

The Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) is the professional society for biomedical engineering and bioengineering. BMES serves as the lead society and professional home for biomedical engineering and bioengineering. Our leadership in accreditation, potential licensure, publications, scientific meetings, global programs, and diversity initiatives, as well as our commitment to ethics, all serve our mission to promote and enhance knowledge and education in biomedical engineering and bioengineering worldwide and its utilization for human health and well-being.

Faculty Advisor
William Kisaalita (williamk@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Salu Smith (salusmith@gmail.com)
Vice President: Jeremy Miller (jeremytm@uga.edu)
Vice President of Marketing: Bobby Leitmann (bobby.leitmann@gmail.com)
Secretary: Nikki Thai (thai.nikki@gmail.com)
Treasurer: Elijah Long (elilong@uga.edu) Co-Public Relations Chair: Jennifer Mccarty (jenlmc@uga.edu) Co-Public Relations Chair: Crystal Schreck (cjrocks14@gmail.com) Co-Fundraising Chair: Jenna Alsaleh (jenals@uga.edu) Co-Fundraising Chair: Melanie Kemp (mcpk95@uga.edu)


Engineers Without Borders (EWB)

EWB-UGA’s mission is to help provide water, power, sanitation, and education both locally and globally. Our vision is a world in which the communities we serve have the capacity to sustainably meet their basic human needs, and that our members have enriched global perspectives through the innovative professional educational opportunities that the EWB-USA program provides.

Fall Semester, 2012: Meetings are Wednesdays at 6:30 pm in Driftmier Auditorium.

National webpage
Student club webpage

Faculty Advisors
Tom Lawrence (lawrence@engr.uga.edu) & William Kisaalita (williamk@engr.uga.edu)

Industry Mentors
Patricia Mahoney and Phil Munro

Club Officers
President: Jacob Mapel (jmapel@uga.edu)
Vice President: Ryan Brush (ryanbrus@uga.edu)
Project Manager: Scotty Smith (scotths@uga.edu)
Fundraising Chair: Timur Cetindag (timur@uga.edu)
Secretary: Helen McIntire (hmm@uga.edu)
Treasurer: Aneek James (aejames@uga.edu)


Graduate Student Club

Club Officers

President: Thomas Huelsnitz (thuelsnitz@gmail.com)
Vice President: Antoinette Stevens (steven3v@uga.edu)
Secretary: Kamala Sahoo​ (sahoo@uga.edu)
Treasurer: Natalia Shim (shimnata@gmail.com)
Web Master: Trent Walls (walls.trent@switchit001.com)
Public Relations Chair: Jonathan Chong (jonchong@uga.edu)
Advisor: Bill Tollner (btollner@engr.uga.edu)


IEEE

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. As a student branch, their goal is to uphold the organization’s mission of fostering the knowledge for technological excellence and furthering the professional development of students in the technology field. Through IEEE’s aims of providing students with hands-on technical projects and opportunities to network with other engineers and professionals, they strive to aid in the development of outstanding engineers who will make positive impacts to benefit society. For more information, visit the student chapter website.

Faculty Advisor
Takoi Hamrita (thamrita@uga.edu)

Club Officers

President: Antoinette Stevens (steven3v@uga.edu)
Vice President: Trent Walls (walls.trent@switchit001.com)
Treasurer: Waiting to be filled
Secretary: Michael Melatti (mmelatti@uga.edu)
Hardware Lead: Michael Lastinger(mclasti3@uga.edu)
Programs Chair: Waiting to be filled
PR Chair: Jey Britto(jey@uga.edu)
Web Master: Waiting to be filled

Meetings: 1st and 3rd Monday, 5:30 pm


International Association for Hydrogen Energy-UGA Chapter (IAHE-UGA)

IAHE-UGA seeks to stimulate the exchange of information regarding the hydrogen/renewable energy field by building a database, educating our members and the community, and building mutually beneficial relationships, performing installations, and conducting demonstrations and research/experimentation.

Faculty Advisor
Dr. Rama Ramasamy (rama@uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Robert "Bobby" Wainwright(rjwain@uga.edu) 912-223-2955
Vice President: Yan Zhou (
yz1990@uga.edu)

International Website: http://www.iahe.org


The National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

Faculty Advisor
Dr. William Kisaalita (williamk@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Rebekah Myrick (president.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Vice President: Bobby Leitmann (vicepresident.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Secretary: Devon Montgomery (secretary.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Treasurer: Darious Mack (treasurer.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Telecommunications Chair: Elijah Vilfort (telecommunications.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Public Relations Chair: Dorothy Gilchrist (publicrelations.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Finance Chair: Julian Jordan (finance.nsbeuga@gmail.com)
Programs Chair: Oronde Youmans (programs.nsbeuga@gmail.com)

The National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE), as a national student and professional based organization, is dedicated to developing intensive programs for increasing interest in technical fields such as science, engineering, and math among pre-college and collegiate students. The objectives of the UGA NSBE Chapter shall be to stimulate and develop interest in engineering among students; to strive to increase the number of students who choose to major in technical fields at the undergraduate and graduate school levels; to create a support system among black engineering students at UGA; to promote learning and provide academic help to students in need; and to strive to further, within its locality, the purpose and programs of the National Society of Black Engineers. Members of this organization are encouraged to participate in programs that encourage academic excellence, leadership development, and personal growth.


Robotics Club

The purpose/mission of the University of Georgia Robotics Club shall be to provide an engaging environment for students to learn about interdisciplinary knowledge in robotics, and to practice community outreach about robotics.

Faculty Advisor
Chi Thai (thai@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Kevin Wu (kwu@uga.edu)
Vice President: Caleb Keitt (ckeitt@uga.edu)
Secretary/Treasurer:  Sharon Castellanos (sharondc@uga.edu)


Society of Environmental Engineers (SEE)

This organization fosters academic achievement, professional development, and scholarly and professional relationships between alumni, faculty, and students while promoting healthy communities and stewardship of the environment.This is a student-led organization available to all UGA students and faculty.

Student club website

Faculty Advisor
Dr. John Schramski (jschrams@uga.edu)

Club Officers

President:
Corey Klawunder
Environmental Engineering
Third Year
theklaw@uga.edu   
(706) 239-9342

Vice President:
Jordan Coleman
Environmental Engineering & German
Second Year
jtc41484@uga.edu
(706) 765-8112

Secretary:
Molly Nelson
Environmental Engineering
Third Year
mmnelson@uga.edu   
(678) 332-9410

Treasurer:
Kerby Wood
Environmental Engineering
Third Year
kerby24@uga.edu   
(678) 488-1244

Director of Programs:
Georgia Hawkins
Environmental Engineering
Fifth Year (I believe; if not I'll let you know)
gphawk@uga.edu    ​
(706) 202-5719

Membership Coordinator:
Dessa Dunn
Environmental Engineering
Third Year
dessadunn@att.net
(678) 603-7410

Please e-mail one of the officers with any questions regarding club meeting times or check the S.E.E. board outside of the student lounge in Driftmier for an up-to-date schedule of events.


Society of Women Engineers (SWE)

The national organization of SWE is the driving force that establishes engineering as a highly desirable career aspiration for women. SWE empowers women to succeed and advance in those aspirations and be recognized for their life-changing contributions and achievements as engineers and leaders. Membership in the professional society is available through their website. The UGA Student Branch of SWE is open to all students, from all disciplines, and is primarily student lead and student driven.

Meetings: 2nd and 4th Tuesday, 5:30 pm, Driftmier-Room 213

Website

Faculty Advisor
Hillary Tanner (hstanner@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President – Shelby Holsomback (shelby8@uga.edu)
VP – Katherine Shayne (kshayne1@uga.edu)
Treasurer – Shenell Robinson (shenellr@uga.edu)
Secretary – Catherine Johnson (sasami@uga.edu)


What I.F.? (Innovation Fellows)

The What I.F.? club seeks to use design thinking and lean startup techniques to tackle real world problems while also promoting innovation and entrepreneurial thinking on campus through speakers, workshops, and projects. To join the mailing list, please fill out the form at tinyurl.com/innovateUGA. The club website is http://universityinnovation.org/wiki/What_IF_Club.

Faculty Advisor
Nadia Kellam (nkellam@engr.uga.edu)

Club Officers
President: Gregory Wilson (mrwilson@uga.edu)
Vice President: William Stith (willstith@mac.com)
Social Media Chair: Sharon Castellanos (sharondc@uga.edu)
Outreach Coordinator: Richard Berthold (richusa@uga.edu)
Treasurer: Alex Herring (eah294@uga.edu)